All surgeons are required to be members of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS).    Their mission is to advocate for surgical standards, education and professionalism in surgery throughout Australia and New Zealand.

Formed in 1927, it is a non-profit organisation which leads the training of surgeons, and maintaining the professional and surgical standards.

RACS Values:

  • Service
  • Integrity
  • Respect
  • Compassion
  • Collaboration

RACS Surgeons are highly qualified specialists.  Once completing their medical degree, this training takes around 10 further years.  This includes multiple exams and assessments, courses and a research commitment.  At the end of training they sit the specialist Fellowship exam, and on completion of other assessments of clinical experience, will be admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (FRACS).  Only then will AHPRA recognise them as a Specialist Surgeon and be eligible for vocational registration in that surgical specialty.